Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Bavarian Center for Battery Technology (BayBatt)

Print page
Mitglieder

Members

Due to the interdisciplinary orientation of BayBatt, the members come from four different faculties and cover all areas of battery research and the entire value chain of batteries:

Physics

​*Prof. Dr. Harald Oberhofer, Theoretical Physics VII Hide

The Chair for Theoretical Physics VII focuses on computer- and data-based investigations of charge carrier transport in different materials, such as battery components and photo-electrocatalysts and (metal-) organic semiconductors. Basic processes are simulated using ab-initio methods. The data generated are analysed using statistical and machine learning methods to derive general structure/function relationships.

Chemistry

​Prof. Dr. Seema Agarwal, Chair of Macromolecular Chemistry IIHide

The group of Prof. Seema Agarwal at the Chair of Macromolecular Chemistry II has expertise in polymer synthesis, the production and structuring of composites and processing methods. At BayBatt, separators based on high-temperature polymers are developed to achieve thermal and mechanical stability as well as good wettability. The ionic conductivity of the separator is achieved by using lithium ion conducting additives.

​*Prof. Dr. Matteo Bianchini, Chair of Inorganic Active Materials for Electrochemical Energy StorageHide

The Chair of Inorganic Active Materials for Electrochemical Energy Storage focuses on improving the current generation of Li-ion batteries and developing next-generation technologies such as Na-ion or solid-state batteries through the design, synthesis and characterisation of novel electrode materials. Electrode materials are the "heart" of energy storage devices and determine their performance. Improved cathode and anode materials are the key to more powerful and longer-lasting batteries.

​​Prof. Dr. Josef Breu, Chair of Inorganic Chemistry IHide

At the Chair of Inorganic Chemistry I the focus is on the hierarchical structuring of solid-state materials. The proven expertise in the synthesis and structuring of novel materials on the nm to µm scale provides access to innovative, high-capacity and safe active materials on the cathode side.​

​​Prof. Dr. Roland Marschall, Chair of Physical Chemistry III – Sustainable Energy MaterialsHide

The Chair of Physical Chemistry III – Sustainable Energy Materials combines inorganic synthesis methods with thorough physicochemical characterisation. Within the framework of BayBatt, new active materials are developed and structured with regard to optimal wetting behaviour. In addition, detailed electrochemical and spectroscopic investigations are carried out on material developments by cooperation partners.

​Prof. Dr. Georg Papastavrou, Physical Chemistry IIHide

The Chair of Physical Chemistry II specialises in the investigation of interfaces. In particular, it has been working on scanning probe methods in combination with electrochemical techniques, among others. These analytical methods are to be applied to electrode materials for the first time within BayBatt.

​Prof. Dr. Markus Retsch, Chair of Physical Chemistry 1Hide

The Chair of Physical Chemistry 1  is an expert in the modelling of heat transport and its analysis, including laser flash analysis, lock-in thermography and photo-acoustic methods. The focus is on heat transport in colloidal materials and thin films. At BayBatt, operando analyses and real-time methods are developed on the basis of these activities, which serve to describe the internal current and future cell state and thus allow a sensor-supported, model-based self-assessment of the battery system.

​Prof. Dr. Mukundan Thelakkat, Applied Functional PolymersHide

The group of Prof. Mukundan Thelakkat at the Chair Macromolecular Chemistry I  has got many years of experience in the field of customised synthesis of functional polymers for various applications in electrical and electronic components. As part of BayBatt, novel ion-conducting polymers are being designed and their suitability as solid electrolytes evaluated.

*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Operando-Analytik elektrochemischer EnergiespeicherHide

This chair will be established with funds from the Hightech Agenda of the Free State of Bavaria.

​*N.N., Lehrstuhl für ElektrochemieHide

This chair will  be established with funds from the Hightech Agenda of the Free State of Bavaria.

​*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Polymermaterialien für elektrochemische SpeicherHide

This chair will be established with funds from the Hightech Agenda of the Free State of Bavaria.

*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Technische Chemie: Nachhaltigkeit und StoffkreisläufeHide

This chair will  be established with funds from the​ Hightech Agenda of the Free State of Bavaria.

Engineering

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Mark-Matthias Bakran, Chair of MechatronicsHide

The focus of the Chair of Mechatronics is electrical energy conversion with power electronics, including investigations ranging from semiconductors to systems. The research area thus represents the link between the battery and the consumer or producer.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Danzer, Chair of Electrical Energy SystemsHide

The research area of the Chair of Electrical Energy Systems is the systems engineering analysis of electrical and electrochemical energy storage systems and converters. Research activities include the analysis and modelling of lithium-ion batteries.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Döpper, Chair Manufacturing and Remanufacturing TechnologyHide

The Chair Manufacturing and Remanufacturing Technology works in close cooperation with small and medium-sized enterprises in the research fields of future and sustainability technologies such as additive manufacturing/3D printing, artificial intelligence, digitalisation of production, machining and remanufacturing. Within BayBatt the focus is on the fundamentals of remanufacturing battery storage systems.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thorsten Gerdes, Keylab Glass TechnologyHide

The Keylab Glass Technology at the Chair of Ceramic Materials Engineering combines fundamental research with application-oriented development. One focus is on glass melting and processing technology for functional glasses that enable new applications in batteries. Research activities at BayBatt are glass-based separators that increase the safety of batteries in extreme situations and slow down cell ageing due to the chemical composition of the glasses. The separators are tested for different applications together with industrial partners under conditions close to the application in lithium-ion batteries.

​Prof. Dr. Christoph Helbig, Chair of Ecological Resource TechnologyHide

The Chair of Ecological Resource Technology (Prof. Christoph Helbig) deals with the modelling, simulation and assessment of global material cycles of metals and mineral raw materials. The methodological focus is on material flow analyses, life cycle assessments and raw material criticality evaluations. Particularly relevant for BayBatt are questions about the availability of raw materials for cathode and anode materials and the future development of recycling potentials.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ralf Moos, Chair of Functional MaterialsHide

The Chair of Functional Materials works on new materials and technologies for energy conversion, among other things. The focus is on novel battery concepts, materials and their processing, which form the basis for the development of innovative battery storage within BayBatt.

​*Prof. Dr.-Ing. Fridolin Röder, Junior Professorship for Battery Management MethodesHide

The research area fo the Junior Professorship for Battery Management Methodes is the model-based development of operating strategies and methods of condition diagnosis for battery management systems.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christina Roth, Chair of Electrochemical Process EngineeringHide

At the Chair of Materials Process Engineering, processes and materials for electrochemical energy conversion and storage are researched. The focus is on the development of spectroscopic methods for the in-operando characterisation of energy materials as well as processes for the controlled 3D structuring of porous electrodes, e.g. using the electrospinning process. Current work is concerned with the production and characterisation of carbon materials and porous electrodes for lithium ion and redox flow batteries, among others.

​*Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jan Philipp Schmidt, Chair of Systems Engineering for Electrical Energy StorageHide

The Chair of Systems Engineering of Electrical Energy Storage focuses on the optimal design and layout of battery storage systems from the cell upwards. Key performance indicators such as power and energy density as well as system properties such as safety and reliability are only created through the interaction of the subsystems cell, mechanical design, thermal management, electronics and software. Due to its integrative character, the chair at BayBatt represents the bridge from the components to the application of the battery system.


​*Prof. Dr.-Ing. Vincent Lorentz, Chair of Electronics for Electrical Energy StorageHide

The Chair of Electronics for Electrical Energy Storage, as part of the BayBatt, works together with the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Systems and Device Technology (IISB) in Erlangen on solutions for the electronic monitoring and control of electrical energy storage systems such as batteries, supercaps and fuel cells, which are used in mobile and stationary applications. The embedded foxBMS® battery management system platform, which emerged from an initiative of the Fraunhofer IISB in 2015 and is being further developed at BayBatt, enables the research and validation of safer, more robust and more reliable system architectures for intelligent energy storage systems.


*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Elektrodendesign elektrochemischer EnergiespeicherHide

This chair will  be established with funds from ​ Hightech Agenda of the Free State of Bavaria.

*N.N., Lehrstuhl für ​Festkörpermechanik für elektrische EnergiespeicherHide

This chair will  be established with funds from the​ Hightech Agenda of the Free State of Bavaria.

Business Informatics

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Strüker, Professorship for Business & Information Systems Engineering and Digital Energy ManagementHide

The Professorship for Business and Information Systems Engineering and Digital Energy Managemet researches the potential of digital technologies for the energy industry and which degrees of freedom they offer for real-time energy management and for effective climate protection. Within the framework of BayBatt, a battery management system is to be developed through the development of real-time CO2 pricing of the electricity in and from the battery storage as well as through flexible interaction with different energy markets in order to increase the economic efficiency of battery storage and the verifiability of electricity use. 

​*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftsinformatik und vernetzte EnergiespeicherHide

This chair will be established with funds from  Hightech Agenda of the Free State of Bavaria

Independent Research Groups

*Dr. Qingsong WangHide

The junior research group is based at the Chair of Inorganic Active Materials for Electrochemical Energy Storage .

*Dr. Jun Young CheongHide

The junior research group is based at the Chair of Inorganic Chemistry I.

*This chair has been newly established with funds from Hightech Agenda of the Free State of Bavaria.


Webmaster: Dr. Matthias Daab

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram LinkedIn Blog UBT-A Contact

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Bayerisches Zentrum für Batterietechnik (BayBatt)

Seite drucken
Mitglieder

Mitglieder

Dank der interdisziplinären Ausrichtung des BayBatt stammen die Mitglieder aus vier verschiedenen Fakultäten und decken alle Größenskalen der Batterieforschung beziehungsweise alle Stufen der Wertschöpfungskette der Batterie ab:

Physik

​*Prof. Dr. Harald Oberhofer, Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Physik VIIEinklappen

Der Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Physik VII konzentriert sich auf Computer- und Datengestützte Untersuchungen von Ladungsträgertransport in verschiedenen Materialien, wie Batteriekomponenten und Photo-elektrokatalysatoren und (Metall-) organischen Halbleitern. Grundlegende Prozesse werden dabei mittels ab-initio Methoden simuliert und die so generierten Daten mit statistischen und maschinenlernenden Methoden analysiert um generelle Struktur/ Funktionsbeziehungen abzuleiten.

Chemie

​Prof. Dr. Seema Agarwal, Lehrstuhl für Makromolekulare Chemie IIEinklappen

Die AG von Prof. Seema Agarwal am Lehrstuhl Makromolekulare Chemie II verfügt über Expertise in der Polymersynthese, der Herstellung und Strukturierung von Kompositen sowie Prozessierungsmethoden. Innerhalb des BayBatt werden Separatoren auf Basis von Hochtemperaturpolymeren entwickelt, um thermische und mechanische Stabilität sowie gute Benetzbarkeit zu erreichen. Die ionische Leitfähigkeit des Separators wird durch Verwendung von Lithiumionen leitenden Additiven erreicht.

​*Prof. Dr. Matteo Bianchini, Lehrstuhl für Anorganische Aktivmaterialien elektrochemischer SpeicherEinklappen

Der Schwerpunkt des Lehrstuhls für Anorganische Aktivmaterialien für elektrochemische Energiespeicher liegt in der Verbesserung der aktuellen Generation von Li-Ionen-Batterien sowie in der Entwicklung von Technologien der nächsten Generation wie Na-Ionen- oder Festkörperbatterien durch Design, Synthese und Charakterisierung neuartiger Elektrodenmaterialien. Elektrodenmaterialien sind das „Herz“ von Energiespeichern und bestimmen deren Leistungsfähigkeit. Verbesserte Kathoden- und Anodenmaterialien sind der Schlüssel zu leistungsfähigeren und langlebigeren Batterien.

​​Prof. Dr. Josef Breu, Lehrstuhl für Anorganische Chemie IEinklappen

Am Lehrstuhl für Anorganische Chemie I steht die hierarchische Strukturierung von Festkörpermaterialien im Fokus. Die ausgewiesene Expertise zur Synthese und Strukturierung von neuartigen Materialien auf der nm- bis µm-Skala ermöglicht den Zugang zu innovativen, hochkapazitiven und sicheren Aktivmaterialien auf der Kathodenseite.

​​Prof. Dr. Roland Marschall, Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie IIIEinklappen

​Der Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie III kombiniert anorganische Synthesemethoden mit gründlicher physiko-chemischer Charakterisierung. Im Rahmen des BayBatt werden neue Aktivmaterialien entwickelt und im Hinblick auf optimales Benetzungsverhalten strukturiert. Darüber hinaus werden detaillierte elektrochemische und spektroskopische Untersuchungen an Materialentwicklungen von Kooperationspartnern durchgeführt.

​Prof. Dr. Georg Papastavrou, Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie IIEinklappen

Der Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie II ist auf die Untersuchung von Grenzflächen spezialisiert. Insbesondere wird an Rastersondenmethoden u.a. in Kombination mit elektrochemischen Techniken gearbeitet. Diese analytischen Methoden sollen innerhalb des BayBatt erstmals auf Elektrodenmaterialien angewendet werden.

​Prof. Dr. Markus Retsch, Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie IEinklappen

Der Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie I ist ausgewiesen in der Modellierung von Wärmetransport und dessen Analytik, unter anderem via Laser Flash Analyse, Lock-In-Thermographie und photo-akustischen Methoden. Schwerpunkte sind der Wärmetransport in kolloidalen Materialien sowie dünnen Filmen. Innerhalb des BayBatt werden auf Basis dieser Tätigkeiten operando-Analysen und echtzeitfähige Methoden entwickelt, die der Beschreibung des internen aktuellen und zukünftigen Zellzustands dienen und damit eine sensorgestützte, modellbasierte Selbsteinschätzung des Batteriesystems erlauben.

​Prof. Dr. Mukundan Thelakkat, AG für Angewandte FunktionspolymereEinklappen

Die AG von Prof. Mukundan Thelakkat am Lehrstuhl Makromolekulare Chemie I besitzt langjährige Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der maßgeschneiderten Synthese von Funktionspolymeren für diverse Anwendungen in elektrischen und elektronischen Bauelementen. Im Rahmen des BayBatt werden neuartige ionenleitende Polymere konzipiert und deren Eignung als Festelektrolyt evaluiert.

*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Operando-Analytik elektrochemischer EnergiespeicherEinklappen

Dieser Lehrstuhl wird aus Mitteln der Hightech Agenda des Freistaats Bayern neu eingerichtet.

​*N.N., Lehrstuhl für ElektrochemieEinklappen

Dieser Lehrstuhl wird aus Mitteln der Hightech Agenda des Freistaats Bayern neu eingerichtet.

​*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Polymermaterialien für elektrochemische SpeicherEinklappen

Dieser Lehrstuhl wird aus Mitteln der Hightech Agenda des Freistaats Bayern neu eingerichtet.

*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Technische Chemie: Nachhaltigkeit und StoffkreisläufeEinklappen

Dieser Lehrstuhl wird aus Mitteln der Hightech Agenda des Freistaats Bayern neu eingerichtet.

Ingenieurwissenschaften

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Mark-Matthias Bakran, Lehrstuhl für MechatronikEinklappen

Das Forschungsgebiet des Lehrstuhls für Mechatronik ist die elektrische Energiewandlung mit Leistungselektronik, wobei die Untersuchungen vom Halbleiter bis zum System reichen. Damit stellt das Forschungsgebiet das Bindeglied zwischen Batterie und Verbraucher bzw. Erzeuger dar.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Danzer, Lehrstuhl für Elektrische EnergiesystemeEinklappen

Das Forschungsgebiet des Lehrstuhls Elektrische Energiesysteme ist die systemtechnische Betrachtung elektrischer und elektrochemischer Energiespeicher und -wandler. Forschungsaktivitäten sind dabei u.a. die Analyse und Modellierung von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Döpper, Lehrstuhl für Umweltgerechte ProduktionstechnikEinklappen

Der Lehrstuhl Umweltgerechte Produktionstechnik arbeitet in enger Verzahnung mit der mittelständischen Wirtschaft in den Forschungsfeldern der Zukunfts- und Nachhaltigkeitstechnologien Additive Fertigung/3D-Druck, Künstliche Intelligenz, Digitalisierung der Produktion, Zerspanung sowie Refabrikation. In BayBatt werden Grundlagen der Refabrikation von Batteriespeichern fokussiert.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thorsten Gerdes, Keylab GlastechnologieEinklappen

Das Keylab Glastechnologie am Lehrstuhl für Keramische Werkstoffe verbindet grundlegende Forschung mit anwendungsorientierter Entwicklung. Ein Schwerpunkt ist die Glasschmelz- und Verarbeitungstechnologie für Funktionsgläser, die neue Anwendungen in Batterien ermöglichen. Forschungsaktivitäten im BayBatt sind glasbasierte Separatoren, die in Extremsituationen die Sicherheit von Batterien erhöhen und die Zellalterung durch die chemische Zusammensetzung der Gläser verlangsamen. Die Separatoren werden für unterschiedliche Anwendungen gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern unter anwendungsnahen Bedingungen in Lithiumionen-Batterien geprüft.

​Prof. Dr. Christoph Helbig, Lehrstuhl für Ökologische RessourcentechnologieEinklappen

Der Lehrstuhl für Ökologische Ressourcentechnologie (Prof. Christoph Helbig) beschäftigt sich mit der Modellierung, Simulation und Bewertung globaler Materialkreisläufe von Metallen und mineralischen Rohstoffen. Der methodische Fokus liegt dabei auf Materialflussanalysen, Ökobilanzierungen und Rohstoffkritikalitätsbewertungen. Für das BayBatt besonders relevant sind Fragestellungen zur Rohstoffverfügbarkeit von Kathoden- und Anodenmaterialien sowie die zukünftige Entwicklung der Recyclingpotentiale.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ralf Moos, Lehrstuhl für FunktionsmaterialienEinklappen

Der Lehrstuhl Funktionsmaterialien arbeitet u.a. an neuen Materialien und Technologien für die Energiewandlung. Dabei stehen neuartige Batteriekonzepte, Materialien und deren Verarbeitung im Fokus, die innerhalb des BayBatt die Basis für die Entwicklung innovativer Batteriespeicher bilden.

​*Prof. Dr.-Ing. Fridolin Röder, Juniorprofessur für Methoden des BatteriemanagementsEinklappen

Das Forschungsgebiet der Juniorprofessur für Methoden des Batteriemanagements ist die modellgestützte Entwicklung von Betriebsstrategien und Methoden der Zustandsdiagnose für Batteriemanagementsysteme.

​Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christina Roth, Lehrstuhl für WerkstoffverfahrenstechnikEinklappen

Am Lehrstuhl Werkstoffverfahrenstechnik werden Prozesse und Materialien der elektrochemischen Energiewandlung und -speicherung erforscht. Im Fokus steht die Entwicklung von spektroskopischen Methoden zur in-operando Charakterisierung von Energiematerialien sowie von Verfahren zur kontrollierten 3D-Strukturierung poröser Elektroden, u. a. mittels des Elektrospinnverfahrens. Aktuelle Arbeiten befassen sich mit der Herstellung und Charakterisierung von Kohlenstoffmaterialien und porösen Elektroden u.a. für Lithiumionen- und Redox-Flow-Batterien.

*Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jan Philipp Schmidt, Lehrstuhl für Systemtechnik elektrischer EnergiespeicherEinklappen

Der Lehrstuhl Systemtechnik elektrischer Energiespeicher beschäftigt sich mit dem optimalen Design und der Auslegung von Batteriespeichern von der Zelle aufwärts. Wesentliche Kenngrößen wie Leistungs- und Energiedichte sowie Systemeigenschaften wie Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit entstehen erst im Zusammenspiel der Teilsysteme Zelle, mechanischer Aufbau, Thermomanagement, Elektronik und Software. Durch den integrativen Charakter stellt der Lehrstuhl im BayBatt die Brücke von den Komponenten zur Anwendung des Batteriesystems dar.

 

*Prof. Dr.-Ing. Vincent Lorentz, Lehrstuhl für Elektronik elektrischer EnergiespeicherEinklappen

Der Lehrstuhl Elektronik elektrischer Energiespeicher arbeitet im BayBatt zusammen mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Systeme und Bauelementetechnologie (IISB) in Erlangen an Lösungen für die elektronische Überwachung und Steuerung von elektrischen Energiespeichersystemen wie Batterien, Supercaps und Brennstoffzellen, die in mobilen und stationären Anwendungen zum Einsatz kommen. Die eingebettete foxBMS® Batterie-Management-System-Plattform, die aus einer Initiative des Fraunhofer IISB im Jahr 2015 entstand und am BayBatt weiterentwickelt wird, ermöglicht die Erforschung und Validierung von sichereren, robusteren und zuverlässigeren Systemarchitekturen für intelligente Energiespeichersysteme.

 

*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Elektrodendesign elektrochemischer EnergiespeicherEinklappen

Dieser Lehrstuhl wird aus Mitteln der Hightech Agenda des Freistaats Bayern neu eingerichtet.

*N.N., Lehrstuhl für ​Festkörpermechanik für elektrische EnergiespeicherEinklappen

Dieser Lehrstuhl wird aus Mitteln der Hightech Agenda des Freistaats Bayern neu eingerichtet.

Wirtschaftsinformatik

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Strüker, Wirtschaftsinformatik und Digitales EnergiemanagementEinklappen

Die Professur für Wirtschaftsinformatik und Digitales Energiemanagement erforscht u.a. das Potenzial digitaler Technologien für die Energiewirtschaft und welche Freiheitsgrade diese für eine Echtzeit-Energiewirtschaft und für einen effektiven Klimaschutz bieten. Im Rahmen des BayBatt soll durch die Entwicklung einer Echtzeit-CO2-Bepreisung des Stroms in und aus dem Batteriespeicher sowie durch flexible Interaktion mit unterschiedlichen Energiemärkten ein Batteriemanagementsystem entwickelt werden, um die Wirtschaftlichkeit von Batteriespeichern und die Nachweisbarkeit der Stromnutzung zu erhöhen. 

​*N.N., Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftsinformatik und vernetzte EnergiespeicherEinklappen

Dieser Lehrstuhl wird aus Mitteln der Hightech Agenda des Freistaats Bayern neu eingerichtet.

Nachwuchsgruppen

*Dr. Qingsong WangEinklappen

Die Nachwuchsgruppe ist am Lehrstuhl für Anorganische Aktivmaterialien elektrochemischer Speicher tätig.

*Dr. Jun Young CheongEinklappen

Die Nachwuchsgruppe ist am Lehrstuhl für Anorganische Chemie 1 tätig.

*Diese Lehrstühle und Stellen wurden durch die Hightech Agenda des Freistaats Bayern geschaffen.


Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Dr. Matthias Daab

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog UBT-A Kontakt